Transport Planner of the Year 2020

TPOY 2019 Susan Claris v2Nominations are being sought for the Transport Planning Society sponsored ‘Transport Planner of the Year Award 2020' 

We are looking for individuals who have made an exceptional contribution to the transport planning profession over the last year. This could be in the form of a project delivered, a pioneering technique or approach used, someone who has put their head above the parapet  or just because they are a good ambassador for the profession. Please be aware that there is separate Lifetime Achievement award presented at TPM.

All entries must be nominated by a colleague or third party. Please send the name of your nominee and no more that 250 words stating why they should be considered for this award to our Business Manager, Andy Costain at

COVID- 19 permitting, this  prestigious award will be presented at the annual Transport Practitioners’ Meeting to be held from 2-3 September in London. If this is not possible another date will be arranged.   Last year's winner was Susan Claris from Arup.

At the award ceremony last year Stephen Bennett, TPS Chair said

"Susan has played an important part in raising the profile of transport planning and particularly of active travel this year, as well as being a champion for diversity in our profession.  Transport Planning Day was her idea originally and she is a worthy recipient of this annual award. She is a great ambassador and role model for the profession"

Her work on active travel has included:

  • Promoting Transport Planning with the idea of Transport Planning Day
  • Giving evidence to the Transport Committee on Active Transport
  • Raising the profile of walking as a mode of transport in the media e.g. article in RICS Journal and The Guardian 
  • Undertaking a project with Sustrans on Inclusive Cycling – focusing on older people and disabled people
  • Leading Arup’s FlexKerbs work for the National Infrastructure Commission – promoting flexible use of streets to accommodate future transport modes whilst retaining space for people and active travel
  • Developing the idea of the ReCharge Parklet to address the problem of EV recharging infrastructure on the footway whilst at the same time improving the street for all users

Susan plays a leading role in promoting diversity in transport planning; she has recently been Chair of Arup’s diversity initiative to improve gender balance in the transport sector.  Activities this year have included:

  • Chairing "Are we there yet...?: The Journey to LGBT+ Inclusion in Transport”
  • Moderating an event for TfL’s Staff Network Group OUTbound
  • Speaking at International Women's Day Breakfast on How Women Shape Better Cities

Outside Arup, Susan is a Trustee of Living Streets.

She delivered the Annual TPS Lecture on 13 May online to a record number of participants.

 The deadline for nominations is Monday 8 June


TPS is supported by

Web design by Tribal Systems