The prestigious Transport Planner of the Year award was presented to Anne Graham, Chief Executive of the National Transport Authority, Ireland by TPS Chair, Lynda Addison at this year's Transport Practitioners' Meeting.

Since appointment to the NTA in 2010 Anne has been instrumental in effecting a significant shift in the governance of Public Transport in Ireland. As Chief Executive she has taken a very public stance promoting Transport Planning and, in particular, the benefits of public transport in delivering a better society.  Under her stewardship, the NTA delivered the first statutory transport plan for the Greater Dublin Area, a Transport Strategy for Galway and is now developing a Transport Strategy for Cork. These achievements and her public leadership have led to a substantial increase in capital funding for all forms of public and sustainable transport in the recent National Development Plan (nearly 50% of transport funding is for PT) and for supporting Public Transport services across the country. She has led the restructuring of rural transport, guided the opening of the subvented bus market to competition, and promoted quality bus and Metro.

 In addition, she headed NTA initiatives on the regulation of clamping, delivery and expansion of regional city bike sharing schemes, expansion and development of Leap (smart ticketing) and the successful regulation of the Small Public Service Vehicles industry. She has developed, motivated and inspired her team at the NTA to take on new challenges and initiatives, and is seen as a thoroughly professional and supportive leader. She is also a strong supporter of the Transport Planning profession, promoting the profession at public events and providing strong support to TPS. She has played a unique and influential role with huge success.

In presenting  the award Lynda Addison, TPS Chair said:

"Anne exemplifies all the characteristics of an excellent transport planner: she provides a very good role model".


TPS is supported by

Web design by Tribal Systems