Transport Planning Day 2019: Speakers announced for 20 November


Chair of the Transport Select Committee, Lilian Greenwood MP, and London’s Walking and Cycling Commissioner, Will Norman, to give keynote speeches at Transport Planning Day on 20 November. 

The Transport Planning Society (TPS) is excited to announce the keynote speakers for its Transport Planning Day event on 20 November at the ICE which brings together communities and transportation professionals to discuss best practice in community engagement in transport planning.

This year’s keynote speakers are:

  • Afternoon session: London’s Walking and Cycling Commissioner, Will Norman to talk about his role in delivering safer and easier access to walking and cycling routes across the city.
  • Evening session: Lilian Greenwood MP, Chair of the House of Commons Transport Select Committee, ( pictured above) will deliver an evening lecture on the role of transport in enabling communities.

Afternoon delegates will also hear from Daisy Naryanan, the Director of Urbanism for Sustrans, currently on secondment to the City of Edinburgh Council to lead the Edinburgh City Centre Transformation programme.

Chair of the Transport Planning Society, Stephen Bennett said: “We are delighted to welcome such high-profile speakers to our Transport Planning Day event this year. All are champions of sustainable transport and advocates for the importance of engaging communities in transport planning and decision making.

“We are looking forward to sharing their expertise and hope this encourages community members, campaigners and professionals to join us for what promises to be an exciting day.”

The programme for Transport Planning Day is designed around two sessions. 

Afternoon: 15:00 – 17:30

Bringing together communities and professionals for an interactive discussion about best practice in community engagement in transport planning and sustainable transport planning for new homes.


  • Will Norman, the Mayor of London’s Walking and Cycling Commissioner (keynote)
  • Daisy Narayanan, Director of Urbanism for Sustrans, currently on secondment to Edinburgh City Council to lead the Edinburgh city centre transformation programme

Evening: 17:30 – 21:00

Revealing the winners of our annual People’s Award and the first ever Transport for New Homes award to recognise recent housing developments which enable and promote walking, cycling and public transport and avoid dependence on cars.


  • Lilian Greenwood MP, ( pictured above) Chair of Transport Select Committee (keynote)
  • Platinum partner: Jacobs. Speaker -  Richard Sanderson, Head of Transport Planning at Jacobs
  • Gold partners: AECOM; Mott MacDonald

TPS members are very welcome at this event. If you’d like to attend, please RSVP by booking through the ICE website. We look forward to seeing you there!

In the evening session, TPS will host an awards ceremony where Stephen Joseph OBE, transport policy consultant and Chair of the People’s Award judges will reveal the winners of the People’s Award, which highlights what transport planners should look to in developing local schemes.

The winner of the Transport for New Homes award recognising non-car dependent new housing will also be announced at the awards ceremony.

About the Speakers 


Web design by Tribal Systems