# **TransportPlanning** *Society*

#### Minutes

TPS Annual General Meeting Thursday 7 March 2024, 6pm via Microsoft Teams

Chair	Ben Plowden (BP)
Treasurer	Susan Cross (SC)
Secretary	Kieran Seale (KS)
Members	42 attendees

### 1. Agree Agenda

The agenda was agreed.

### 2. Approval of 2023 minutes

The minutes of the 2023 AGM were unanimously approved.

### 3. Chair's report

The Chair provided a report summarising the main activities of the Society during the year. He discussed three main themes:

- The privilege of being the Chair
- The main achievements during the year
- Thanking Board members, who are volunteers, for their hard work.

### 4. Financial statement to 31 December 2023

The Treasurer presented the accounts for 2023. The accounts were unanimously approved.

## 5. Amendment to Articles – Chair's term of Office

The Secretary proposed an amendment to the Articles relating to the term of the Chair:

Paragraph 16.6

Delete:

"The Chair shall hold office for 2 years from the conclusion of the AGM at which he is elected."

Replace with:

"The Chair shall hold office for two years from the conclusion of the AGM at which they are elected.

"The Chair's term may be extended by one further year if:

- a. a proposal to extend the term is made by the Board; and
- b. the proposal to extend the term is approved by a simple majority of the members present at an AGM.

"If a proposal to extend the term of the Chair is rejected by the AGM, the Board shall appoint an interim Chair until a new Chair can be elected.

"If the post of Chair becomes vacant at any time, the Board may appoint an interim Chair until the next AGM."

The amendment was approved, with 31 votes in favour and one against.

### 6. Announcement of Board Directors

The Chair thanked all Board members for their work on behalf of the Society and the efforts of those stepping down at this year's AGM.

Four Elected Director vacancies were available on the TPS Board. Nine valid nominations for Elected Directors were received. The following members were elected to the Board following a ballot of the members.

- Georgia Corr
- Tom van Vuren

- Roger Evans
- Darren Kirkman

## 7. Announcement of this year's Bursary Winners

The Bursary of the Year award was given to Sarah Garvin (Jacobs). She was awarded £750.

The other finalists were awarded £500:

- Omar Ajaz Systra
- Anshel Cohen Arup
- Greg Sinnett AECOM

## 8. Any other Business

There was no other business.

Meeting closed: 18:35.