Transport Planner of the Year 2019

Nominations  are being sought for the Transport Planning Society sponsored ‘Transport Planner of the Year Award 2019'

We are looking for individuals who have made an exceptional contribution to the transport planning profession over the last year. This could be in the form of a project delivered, a pioneering technique or approach used, someone who has put their head above the parapet  or just because they are a good ambassador to the profession. Please be aware that there is separate Lifetime  Achievement award presented at TPM.

All entries must be nominated by a colleague or third party. Please send the name of your nominee and no more that 250 words stating why they should be considered for this award to our Development Officer, Andy Costain at

The prestigious award will be presented at the annual Transport Practitioners’ Meeting to be held from 10-11 July 2019 in  Oxford.  Last year's winner was Anne Graham, Chief Executive of the National Transport Authority, Ireland. She will give the Annual Guest Lecture after the AGM on 21 March.

Since appointment to the NTA in 2010 Anne has been instrumental in effecting a significant shift in the governance of Public Transport in Ireland. As Chief Executive she has taken a very public stance promoting Transport Planning and, in particular, the benefits of public transport in delivering a better society.  Under her stewardship, the NTA delivered the first statutory transport plan for the Greater Dublin Area, a Transport Strategy for Galway and is now developing a Transport Strategy for Cork. These achievements and her public leadership have led to a substantial increase in capital funding for all forms of public and sustainable transport in the recent National Development Plan (nearly 50% of transport funding is for PT) and for supporting Public Transport services across the country. She has led the restructuring of rural transport, guided the opening of the subvented bus market to competition, and promoted quality bus and Metro.

 The deadline for nominations is  14 March 2019.


TPS is supported by

Web design by Tribal Systems